The club was started on the 14th November 1981 with 4 Bay Boats. The name was Impangela Boat Club. During 1986 The Drift Sands Boat Club went under and all the members joined us. On the 18th of May 1984 the name was changed to Meerensee Boat Club.

The Light Tackle division was started by Hendrik Kuhn in 1986. The cano and kayak guys joined the club in 1986. The Ski boat division was started by Dawie Du Plessis in 1994/1995. The 21 Species fishing festival was started by Kokkie Jacobs in 1992 and the first Competition was held on the 18th and 19th of June 1992 and is today one of the most popular competitions with 1000 anglers participating yearly.

The names of the people who started the club:
Willie and Drieka Brits, Bruce and Denise Harvey, Late Paul Myburg, Piet Roos, Gert Smith, Jimmy Grimsdell, Daantjie Van Rensburg, and Daryl Shelver.

Committee members

NAME POSITION CELL NR EMAIL
Giepie Joubert Commodore 078 800 1714 giepie@gjcivils.co.za
Heinz Paul Vice Commodore (Acting) 071 471 9067 iningi143@telkomsa.net
Heinz Paul Staff 071 471 9067 iningi143@telkomsa.net
Jacobus v Zyl Bar & Kitchen 079 030 2795 jacobus.redline.vanzyl@gmail.com
Doep Du Plessis IT 076 861 4506 doep@eaglecoast.co.za
Charl Fourie Up Country 079 526 6057 charl@velocityconstruction.co.za
Yogandra Naidoo Secretary/Marketing 073 506 2692 ynaidoo59@gmail.com
Lourain Cowie Finance 083 661 7509 lourain60@gmail.com
Deon Coetzer Grounds 082 883 3176 zetcoservices@gmail.com
Jean Schhonhoven Competitions 082 492 7703 jean@schoonies.co.za
Corne Kleinchmidt Head Safety Officer 084 456 7829 corne.kleinschmidt@mondigroup.com
Trevor Goddard Safety Officer 082 434 9381 trevorg196847@gmail.com
Trevor Harvey Safety Officer 082 822 6485 nelsmarine@telkomsa.net